FAQ - What is the Syllabus of the Examination?

Q. What is the Syllabus of the Examination?

Ans.- Paper I – (200 marks) 2 hrs (General Studies)

• Current events of national and international importance

• History of India and Indian National Movement

• Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.

• Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.

• Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.

• General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization

• General Science.

Paper II – (200 marks) 2 hrs (CSAT – Civil Services Aptitude Test)

• Comprehension

• Interpersonal skills including communication skills;

• Logical reasoning and analytical ability

• Decision making and problem solving

• General mental ability

• Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. -Class X level)

• English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level)

• Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level (will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the question paper)

• The questions will be objective in nature; Multiple choice questions

The Syllabus of GS (Main) and Main Optional subjects is available in the Syllabus section